Our Mission

We are committed to empowering young women
within the wider community of women
to make positive choices in order to affect social change.


Local Herstory

The YWCA was separately incorporated from the YMCA in Hamilton on 16 May 1943.  We have owned our property on the corner of Clarence and Pembroke Streets, Hamilton, since 1954.

The YWCA of Hamilton works for individual and community change by empowering women, especially young women, to develop and exercise their individual and collective leadership through enhancing their spiritual, physical, mental and cultural well-being.  We are committed to addressing all forms of oppression, so that women may together attain social and economic justice.

Read about the history of our two buildings, which gained Historic Places Category II registration on April 30, 2010.  They are Bishopscourt and the Chapel/Te Whare Wahine.

You can read our latest Annual Report here.

Governance Board

President: Kimberley Kilgour (young woman)
Vice-president: TBA

Board Members:

  • Jamie Toko 
  • Rachel Southee (young woman)
  • Charlotte Muggeridge (young woman)
  • Sally Lee

The Board meets monthly, and we hold an Annual General Meeting in October of each year.

For names and contact info of our operational team, click here.


We gratefully acknowledge the following grants and donations made by our members, friends and other individual supporters.

  • Trust Waikato
  • WEL Energy Trust
  • Auckland Airport Twelve Days of Christmas
  • WDFF Karamu Trust
  • Tindall Foundation via Community Waikato
  • Len Reynolds Trust via Community Waikato
  • Sir John Logan Campbell Residuary Estate
  • Harcourts Foundation
  • Sky City Hamilton Community Trust
  • The Norah Howell Charitable Trust
  • Community Post Envelopes
  • Z ‘Good in the Hood’
  • Curnow Tizard – Registered Valuers – Analyst
  • Deloitte
  • Lion Foundation
  • The Tidd Foundation Incorporated
  • The Gallagher Charitable Trust
  • Hamilton City Council – Multi Year Grant 2015-2018
  • Department of Internal Affairs (DIA)
  • Lottery Grants Board
    • Lottery Community
    • Community Organisation Grants Scheme (COGS)
  • The Page Charitable Trust
  • Mahjong Club
  • Waikato Lyceum Charitable Trust
  • G McEwan
  • T Reardon
  • A Sayers
  • T Hoy